And so it begins…

Because I have these thoughts in my head…these things I just *have* to share…because I love words and pictures and music and expression…I simply cannot stay away from blogging.

This is actually the third blog I’ve created. My first one, “Val’s Mom Blog”, was mostly for my mother and a few close friends…I think I had about 5 regular readers–and that may be stretching the definition of regular. “Val’s Mom Blog” died a natural death due to neglect, much like a plant or goldfish.

Somewhere in the midst of mom blogging, I started planning Disney vacations. At first, I was just planning our Disney vacations. But I realized I was doing a lot of research and helping a lot of friends plan their trips, and I thought, Hey, if I put all this information on a blog, I could just tell all my friends to go read it, and I wouldn’t have to keep repeating myself. That brilliant deduction birthed “Affording the Mou$e,” first at BlogSpot.com and later at the dot com my husband purchased for me as a gift. “Affording the Mou$e” had actual readers…quite a few of them. Like, people I didn’t even know. In fact, the Facebook page it spawned still has nearly 1000 “likes”–even as I neglect it. (I realize this is by no means a giant readership…but consider my original 5 readers of “Val’s Mom Blog” and it’s quite a leap.) Last year, I realized that updating ATM was creating a great deal of pressure on me, and with no real return on that investment. In fact, every year my lovely husband was paying some theoretical entity a hefty fee to maintain ownership of said dot com. (I have never quite understood how the internet works…but that’s a post for another day.) And so I made the bold decision to let it go. (Cue Frozen montage.) I parked the content back on the BlogSpot site and never looked back. I do occasionally post deals to the Facebook page, and I retweet stories from my favorite Disney sites (follow me at ValerieBGibbs), but I no longer maintain a web presence.

Until now. ‘Cause I’m back. And this time it’s personal. (I just really wanted to type that.) I don’t know exactly what this will look like, but I’m diving in and not pressuring myself to perform. (Cue laughter.) No, really. I’m doing this for me. And you. And a little bit just because I need to feel like I am somehow participating in the world outside these walls. I will likely post a lot about my family and include photos of my darling daughters (Reagan, 10, and Presley, 7) and tell you some of the funny things they say. There will probably be lots of posts about Disney World, because I am a bit obsessed. And other travel, too (I write reviews for Trekaroo.com–check it out!). Oh, and homeschooling. (I could write a BOOK on what I don’t know but am constantly learning about homeschooling.) Maybe some music and theatre stuff (my girls love to perform, and so do I). Or coupon deals (I dabble…I never pay full price, but you won’t see me clearing a shelf of mustard, either). And there will most definitely be some posts about my faith, ’cause that’s really what defines me.

BTDubs (as my tween daughter would say), you’ve probably noticed that I tend to write in the scattered, babbling way that I talk. That’s probably not going to change, so–and I mean this in the nicest possible way–deal with it.

Finally (well, the final thought of my inaugural post…not the final word on this blog…that would just be crazy), about the title, It Will Get Different: This is a saying of a dear family friend. Whenever someone is complaining or lamenting, particularly about something a child has said or done, this friend responds with, “It will get different.” And isn’t that true? We can’t know if it will get worse before it gets better, but one thing we are guaranteed in life is change. Personally, I find that thought incredibly encouraging and equally challenging. Encouraging, because the tough times never last. Challenging, because neither do the precious moments.

A colicky baby who rarely sleeps at night…It will get different.

A child who wants your every moment’s attention…It will get different.

A teen whose friends eat you out of house and home…It will get different.

It kind of puts all those moments into perspective, doesn’t it?

 

I hope you’ll read. And enjoy. And like me. Please like me! (Too needy?) And, hey, if you didn’t particularly enjoy this post, check back for the next one. Don’t worry: It will get different. (See what I did there?)

Leave a Reply

